Reservation departmentReceptionist
Call
How to get

Bronze Horseman

Address and phone: Senate square

Schedule: around the clock

Copper horseman in St. Petersburg-the most famous monument to Peter I. it is located in an open square on Senate square and is a unique work of Russian and world culture. The bronze horseman is surrounded by famous sights: from the West there are buildings of the Senate and the Synod, from the East – Admiralty, from the South – St. Isaac's Cathedral.
The initiative to create a monument to Peter I belongs to Catherine II. It was on her orders that Prince Alexander Golitsyn addressed professors of the Paris Academy of painting and sculpture Diderot and Voltaire, whose opinion Catherine II fully trusted. Famous masters recommended for this work Etienne-Maurice Falcone, who at that time worked as the chief sculptor at the porcelain factory.  "There is an abyss of delicate taste, intelligence and delicacy, and yet he is not weighed down, is severe, does not believe in anything. .. Greed does not know," wrote Diderot about Falcone.
Etienne-Maurice Falcone always dreamed of monumental art and received an offer to create a horse statue of colossal size, without hesitation agreed. September 6, 1766, he signed a contract in which the remuneration was determined in the amount of 200 thousand livres, which was quite a modest amount – other masters asked for much more.

Share your impressions

Отдел бронированияРесепшн
Позвонить
Добраться

Медный всадник

Адрес и телефон: Сенатская площадь

График работы: круглосуточно

Медный всадник в Санкт-Петербурге – самый известный памятник Петру I. Он расположен в открытом сквере на Сенатской площади и является уникальным произведением русской и мировой культуры. Медный всадник окружен  известными достопримечательностями:  с запада расположены здания Сената и Синода, с востока – Адмиралтейство, с юга – Исаакиевский собор.

Инициатива создания памятника Петру I принадлежит Екатерине II. Именно по ее приказу князь Александр Михайлович Голицын обратился к профессорам Парижской Академии живописи и скульптуры Дидро и Вольтеру, мнению которых Екатерина II полностью доверяла. Известные мастера рекомендовали для этой работы Этьен-Мориса Фальконе, работавшего в то время главным скульптором на фарфоровом заводе.  «В нем бездна тонкого вкуса, ума и деликатности, и вместе с тем он неотесан, суров, ни во что не верит. .. Корысти не знает», - писал Дидро о Фальконе.

Этьен-Морис Фальконе всегда мечтал о монументальном искусстве и получив предложение создать конную статую колоссального размера, не раздумывая согласился. 6 сентября 1766 года он подписал контракт, в котором вознаграждение за работу определялось в размере 200 тысяч ливров, что было достаточно скромной суммой – другие мастера просили значительно больше.

Делимся впечатлениями