Reservation departmentReceptionist
Call
How to get

Museum of Arctic and Antarctic

Address and phone: Marata street, 24A, 8( 812) 571-25-49

Schedule: mon-day off, Tue-sat: from 10.00 to 18.00, sun: from 10.00 to 17.00

The Russian state Museum of Arctic and Antarctic is one of the world's largest museums, the collection of which is devoted to the polar theme. It presents archaeological monuments and relics, scientific instruments and expedition equipment, written, cartographic and printed sources, photographs, numerous models, models, stuffed animals and birds, paintings, graphics, sculptures and decorative arts.
 The history of the Museum began with a series of Traveling polar exhibitions (1922-1935). In 1930, By order of the Presidium of the USSR CEC, the all - Union Arctic Institute was established, and as a Department, the Arctic Museum. After reconstruction and repair in 1937, the Museum of the Arctic opens its doors to the first visitors. In connection with the beginning of Soviet scientific research in Antarctica in 1956-58, the Museum opened a new Department "Antarctica" and received a new name, now it is a Museum of the Arctic and Antarctic.
In 1998 by the Decree Of the government of the Russian Federation the Museum was separated from the Institute and became a state institution. Currently, the exhibition has three departments:" nature of the Arctic";" History of research and development of the Northern sea route";"Antarctica".

Share your impressions

Отдел бронированияРесепшн
Позвонить
Добраться

Музей Арктики и Антарктики

Адрес и телефон: улица Марата, 24А, 8 (812) 571-25-49

График работы: пн - выходной, вт-сб: с 10.00 до 18.00, вс: с 10.00 до 17.00

Российский государственный музей Арктики и Антарктики - один из крупнейших в мире музеев, коллекция которого посвящена полярной тематике. В ней представлены археологические памятники и реликвии, научные приборы и экспедиционное снаряжение, письменные, картографические и печатные источники, фотодокументы, многочисленные модели, макеты, чучела животных и птиц, произведения живописи, графики, скульптуры и декоративно-прикладного искусства.

 История музея началась с серии Передвижных полярных выставок (1922-1935 гг.). В 1930 г. Приказом Президиума ЦИК СССР образован Всесоюзный Арктический институт, а при нем в качестве отдела - Музей Арктики. После реконструкции и ремонта в 1937 г. Музей Арктики открывает двери для первых посетителей. В связи с началом научных исследований СCCР в Антарктике в 1956-58 гг. музей открывает новый отдел "Антарктика" и получает новое имя, теперь это Музей Арктики и Антарктики.

В 1998 г. Постановлением Правительства РФ музей отделяется от института и становится государственным учреждением. В настоящее время в экспозиции работают три отдела: "Природа Арктики"; "История исследования и освоения Северного морского пути"; "Антарктика".

Делимся впечатлениями