Reservation departmentReceptionist
Call
How to get

Smolny Cathedral

Address and phone: Rastrelli square, 1, 8 (812) 710-31-59

Schedule: daily, 10: 00-19: 00, cash is open until 18:00

Smolny Cathedral in St. Petersburg is located on the left Bank of the Neva river, near Smolny yard, in the place where the resin was cooked for the manufacture of ships. The temple is part of the architectural ensemble of Smolny monastery. Built in Baroque style. The architecture of the ensemble organically combines elements of old Russian architecture and European architecture.
After the revolution in 1922 iconostases, crystal balustrade, preaching Department of the Church were looted. The monastery premises were used as a warehouse. The iconostasis of the Church was dismantled only in 1972. In 1990 opened the concert-exhibition complex, which is located in the here and now.
The majestic Smolny Cathedral of Francesco Bartolomeo Rastrelli began to build in the reign of Empress Elizabeth, and it was completed VP Stasov under Emperor Nicholas I. This temple is considered to be the pearl of the Baroque of St. Petersburg. By Royal decree it became known as the Cathedral of all educational institutions. It was during the beginning of its construction by the decree of Empress Elizabeth in the Northern capital was restored five – domed-the traditional end of the Orthodox Church. In its picturesque, expressive composition, exterior Smolny Cathedral-one of the peaks of world architecture.

Share your impressions

Отдел бронированияРесепшн
Позвонить
Добраться

Смольный собор

Адрес и телефон: пл. Растрелли, 1, 8 (812) 710-31-59

График работы: ежедневно, 10:00-19:00, касса открыта до 18:00

Смольный собор в Санкт-Петербурге расположен на левом берегу Невы, в районе Смольного двора, в том месте, где варили смолу для изготовления кораблей. Храм входит в состав архитектурного ансамбля Смольного монастыря. Построен в стиле барокко. В архитектуре ансамбля органично сочетаются элементы древнерусского зодчества и  европейской архитектуры.

После революции в 1922 году иконостасы, хрустальная балюстрада, проповедническая кафедра храма были разграблены. Помещения монастыря использовались под склад. Иконостас храма был демонтирован только в 1972 году. В 1990 году  открылся концертно-выставочный комплекс, который располагается здесь и сейчас.

Величественный Смольный собор Франческо Бартоломео Растрелли начал возводить в царствование императрицы Елизаветы Петровны, а завершен он был В.П.Стасовым при императоре Николае I. Этот храм по праву считается жемчужиной петербургского барокко. Царским указом он стал именоваться Собором всех учебных заведений. Именно в период начала его строительства указом императрицы Елизаветы в северной столице было восстановлено пятиглавие – традиционное завершение православной церкви. По своей живописности, выразительности композиции, наружному убранству Смольный собор – одна из вершин мирового зодчества.


Делимся впечатлениями